That was great, not what we asked for, but great

Well once again there has been no news. The two auditions I had when I wrote to you last both went really well and I couldn’t have done them better but alas it doesn’t appear to have been enough.

When I walked into my final audition there was a big poster of me on the wall. The director laughed and said she had been staring at my face all day. Maybe that was the problem? After looking at my mug shot (it wasn’t a mug shot, it was from a show I had done for this company a few years ago!) she couldn’t bare to look at me anymore and decided it was a no. It’s funny whenever I see things like that or the title of the show I am going up for is somehow relevant on a different level I think it must be fate, a sign. When the audition goes well too then I have already convinced myself that surely the part must be mine…. I am trying, I know after nearly ten years you would think I’d know better by now.

I had a theatre audition last week which was a little strange. The money wasn’t great and although the venue wasn’t fantastic it was in London and for the lead so it had potential. The breakdown for the character said a northern accent… so I practiced a northern accent. I have actually improved on this. I used to be terrible, so much so that I told my agent not to put me up for anything that requires one. I haven’t told her otherwise but maybe she sensed that now I was ready.. or perhaps it was just a subtle quick up the backside to get it sorted. Anyway, I was confident, the lines were learnt and the accent was good so I was ready to go. Within about three seconds of my monologue I am stopped. Oh bugger, this does not bode well. Is my accent really so bad? Am I hearing something entirely different to them or am I just shit? Well it would appear that my northern accent it fine but what they were after was a Scottish one. Now, correct my if I am wrong but they asked for a northern accent; a northern accent is a northern accent, if they wanted a Scottish one then they should have asked for a Scottish one! So now I am stuck, the only reference that comes to mind is Fat Bastard from Austin Powers and I am certain that is not the way to go. So I tell them that I could try with the Scottish accent but it may be a little off as I hadn’t been expecting it. Thankfully they told me not to worry, that perhaps they weren’t clear… urm do you think?! I don’t say that I thank them for being understanding and apologise for my error. Well, after that I really wasn’t fussed about getting it which was handy as I didn’t.

So nothing on the horizon at the moment. Only a few new shows coming out that I had audition for to look forward to watching and comparing myself to whoever the girl is who got my role and wondering what she has that I haven’t. Wow, good times ahead!

63 Comments

Filed under Auditions

63 responses to “That was great, not what we asked for, but great

  1. Its like you read my mind! You seem to know a lot about this,
    like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you can do with some pics to drive the message home a little bit, but
    other than that, this is fantastic blog. An excellent read.
    I will certainly be back.

  2. Hi! I thought your post was cool and will visit often.

  3. Hi! I thought your post was cool and will visit often.

  4. I’m from Poland so I don’t write english quite good, but your blog is very sweet.

  5. Hmm it looks like your website ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any points for novice blog writers? I’d definitely appreciate it.

  6. I’ve been absent for some time, but now I remember why I used to love this web site. Thank you, I will try and check back more frequently. How frequently you update your site?

  7. this is pretty darn cool,

  8. Very interesting points you have noted , regards for posting . “Success is a journey, not a destination. The doing is often more important than the outcome.” by Arthur Ashe.

  9. Just added this blog to my favorites. I enjoy reading your blogs and hope you keep them coming!

  10. Hiya! Fantastic blog! I happen to be a daily visitor to your site (somewhat more like addict 😛 ) of this website. Just wanted to say I appreciate your blogs and am looking forward for more!

  11. Straight to the point and well written! Why can’t everyone else be like this?

  12. This is absolutely gold. I was not expecting that I’d get so much out of reading your write up! You’ve just got yourself a returning visitor 🙂

  13. This is absolutely gold. I was not expecting that I’d get so much out of reading your write up! You’ve just got yourself a returning visitor 🙂

  14. I’ve recently started a blog, the information you offer on this web site has helped me tremendously. Thanks for all of your time & work.

  15. Thanks for this post. I definitely agree with what you are saying. I have been talking about this subject a lot lately with my brother so hopefully this will get him to see my point of view. Fingers crossed!

  16. Great web site. Lots of helpful information here. I am sending it to several friends ans also sharing in delicious. And certainly, thank you on your effort!

  17. breakdown comparison

    Hiya! Fantastic blog! I happen to be a daily visitor to your site (somewhat more like addict 😛 ) of this website. Just wanted to say I appreciate your blogs and am looking forward for more!

  18. Just added this blog to my favorites. I enjoy reading your blogs and hope you keep them coming!

  19. Just added this blog to my favorites. I enjoy reading your blogs and hope you keep them coming!

  20. Hi! Would you mind if I share your blog with my twitter group? There’s a lot of people that I think would really enjoy your content. Please let me know. Thanks

  21. I just added this feed to my bookmarks. I have to say, I really enjoy reading your blogs. Thanks!

  22. This is absolutely gold. I was not expecting that I’d get so much out of reading your write up! You’ve just earned yourself a returning visitor 🙂

  23. I’ve gone ahead and bookmarked https://tiahere.wordpress.com/2011/08/31/that-was-great-not-what-we-asked-for-but-great at Digg.com so my friends can see it too. I simply used That was great, not what we asked for, but great | TIA : The life of an actress in London as the entry title in my Digg.com bookmark, as I figured if it is good enough for you to title your blog post that, then you probably would like to see it bookmarked the same way.

  24. Howdy! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be ok. I’m absolutely enjoying your blog and look forward to new posts.

  25. I just added this feed to my bookmarks. I have to say, I really enjoy reading your blogs. Keep it up!

  26. Hey! awesome blog! I happen to be a daily visitor to your site (somewhat more like addict 😛 ) of this website. Just wanted to say I appreciate your blogs and am looking forward for more to come!

  27. Very interesting subject, appreciate it for posting.

  28. You should take part in a contest for one of the best blogs on the web. I will recommend this site!

  29. I’ve got the impression that I will visit this blog over and over again. Well done.

  30. Straight to the point and well written! Why can’t everyone else be like this?

  31. I’m sure you don’t know how good this blog is.

  32. wtf

    My brother suggested I might like this blog. He used to be entirely right. This submit actually made my day. You can not imagine simply how so much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

  33. I’m glad to see that you’re addressing this important topic in such a straightforward and easily understandable way. Best wishes. I’ll be back.

  34. Thanks for the write up! Also, I noticed that your RSS feeds aren’t working. Could you take a look at that?

  35. Nice to be visiting your blog again, it has been months to me. Well this article that i’ve been waited for way too long. I need this informative article to complete my assignment inside the college, and it has same topic using your article. Thanks, great share.

  36. Very interesting subject, thank you for posting.

  37. This page appears to get a good ammount of visitors. How do you advertise it? It offers a nice individual twist on things. I guess having something authentic or substantial to talk about is the most important thing.

  38. Hardly can I recall any better blog than this one.

  39. All that has been already posted here is definitely noteworthy.

  40. Inspiration has finally come and it is due to this blog.

  41. This is absolutely gold. I was not expecting that I’d get so much out of reading your write up! You’ve just got yourself a returning visitor 🙂

  42. I’m glad that I visited this blog. It is so good.

  43. I wish I could read more such fantastic blogs.

  44. Wonderful original post, I wish I could find more posts on this subject presented in a similar manner.

  45. Great post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon!

  46. Wow, fantastic blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your web site is magnificent, let alone the content!

  47. This is just what I was looking for. I was not expecting that I’d get so much out of reading your write up! You’ve just earned yourself a returning visitor 🙂

  48. I read a blog the other day that discussed this very area, just not as eloquently, wonderful job on the post.

  49. Its refreshing to actually find somebody that knows what they are discussing; often you find people that emblesh excessively. I wish more people would read your well-written post; I know I will certainly be looking for more of your work.

  50. Just added this blog to my favorites. I enjoy reading your blogs and hope you keep them coming!

  51. Straight to the point and well written! Why can’t everyone else be like this?

  52. Everyone has to be able to make a living, and additionally I do what I have need to to make mine.

  53. Great blog. I’m impressed how well-written it is.

  54. Hiya! awesome blog! I happen to be a daily visitor to your site (somewhat more like addict 😛 ) of this website. Just wanted to say I appreciate your blogs and am looking forward for more!

  55. This is absolutely gold. I did not expect that I’d get so much out of reading your write up! You’ve just earned yourself a returning visitor 🙂

  56. Just added this blog to my favorites. I enjoy reading your blogs and hope you keep them coming!

  57. Hiya! awesome blog! I happen to be a daily visitor to your site (somewhat more like addict 😛 ) of this website. Just wanted to say I appreciate your blogs and am looking forward for more to come!

  58. This page appears to get a good ammount of visitors. How do you advertise it? It offers a nice individual twist on things. I guess having something authentic or substantial to talk about is the most important thing.

  59. Yeah bookmaking this wasn’t a bad decision outstanding post!

Leave a Reply

