Know your audience!

Theatre audition was a nightmare!! I went to a friend’s house warming party the night before and I had planned to get the last train home but obviously I missed it so I had to sleep there. Now when I say sleep I mean to lie in the spare bedroom with a pillow over my head trying desperately to block out the thud of the bass of the 90’s classics. My brother also ended up in the bed with me so I was really glad that I’d decided to stay….

After a little over two hours sleep I made my way to the audition, it was a Sunday so I’m sure I wasn’t the only one a little worse for wear arriving. I turn up early and just about manage to keep my eyes open. I do a fairly coherent reading considering, but I am not expecting the call to come through any time soon.

I had debated whether to go at all but I pulled it off and it’s always good to meet new faces. Took me at least a day to get over that night, clearly not as young as I used to be!

Then yesterday I got a recall for the TV job I auditioned for last week!!! SO happy about it. The casting director is a gem, really on my side. When I went for the first audition I hardly had anything to read so he got me to read another character too. I ended up being called back for that part!

I googled the director the night before so I knew a bit of info on him and then on the way to the audition I saw him outside. It was great that I could confidently say hi knowing who he was and introducing myself. I think that went down well. I then had 5 mins to chat with him and one of the producers so I could tell them a little bit about what I’d done etc. And that was all before I’d gone in.

It was because of that they then asked me to prepare for another character as well. Both characters completely contrasted and I nailed both. I also knew that the writers were in the room and were going to have a large part to play in the casting process so it was important to win them over too so to speak. So….. when I was reading the scene I had just been given and therefore not prepared I decided to flatter them a little. It’s a comedy and so during the reading I got the giggles because “it was just so funny”, they loved that. It is funny anyway but I played it up a little and it worked wonders.

There really is no better feeling than leaving an audition and thinking yeah I am ace at this, I totally ruled! Well… I guess getting the job feels pretty good too.

20 Comments

Filed under Auditions

20 responses to “Know your audience!

  1. Very wonderful site thank you so much for your time in writing the posts for all of us to learn about.

  2. Lucia Lavecchia

    Please let me know if you’re looking for a writer for your weblog. You have some really great articles and I feel I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d love to write some material for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine. Please shoot me an email if interested. Thank you!

  3. I hope you never stop! This is one of the best blogs Ive ever read. Youve got some mad skill here, man. I just hope that you dont lose your style because youre definitely one of the coolest bloggers out there. Please keep it up because the internet needs someone like you spreading the word.

  4. Very interesting points you have remarked, appreciate it for putting up. “Strength does not come from physical capacity. It comes from an indomitable will.” by Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi.

  5. Way cool, some intriguing points! I appreciate you making these thoughts available, the rest of the site is also high quality. Have a great day.

  6. Hi-Ya! We simply love your charming site thank you and please carry on

  7. I agree, first few occasions I didn’t get it. Try a couple of extra times.

  8. Hi! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be okay. I’m definitely enjoying your blog and look forward to new updates.

  9. Your blog post is very informative and interesting for folks just like me who needs an insightful and edifying information. I am hoping that you always have the spare time to continue with your valuable endeavors.

  10. believe this is 1 of one of the most vital facts for me. And i’m glad reading your article. But will need to remark on some general points, The website style is perfect, the articles is seriously amazing : D. Decent job, cheers

  11. It鈥檚 best to take part in a contest for among the best blogs on the web. I鈥檒l advocate this web site!

  12. Pingback: commodity options

  13. Extremely great post. Id like to make use of some of this info on my blog in the event you dont mind, and Ill provide a link back to your site. Ill also be subscring to your blogs RSS feed.

  14. Greetings from Carolina! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to check out your blog on my iphone during lunch break. I enjoy the info you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how fast your blog loaded on my phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, awesome site!

  15. Have you ever considered creating an ebook or guest authoring on other sites? I have a blog centered on the same topics you discuss and would love to have you share some stories/information. I know my visitors would value your work. If you are even remotely interested, feel free to shoot me an email.

  16. This design is wicked! You definitely know how to keep a reader amused. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Excellent job. I really loved what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it. Too cool!

  17. Hey TIAHERE, I replied to you on my blog but I wanted to make sure you received this. (I don’t double post for just anyone *smile*) I’m not sure what you meant by “Scratch That”, because my compliment was sincere. Any actor has my respect and one that blogs with the openness and style that you do has my admiration.

    I do hope you were not offended, though I’m really baffled as to how you could be…

    In either case, Congratulations for pursuing your dream. It’s always been my dream as well. I would love to keep in touch with you simply because the theatre is something that I’m passionately in love with! And London…even better.

    You are talented. Obviously you have talent as an actress and I can tell you have talent as a writer as well.

    • No offence taken at all!!! When i said “scrap that” I meant to my question as to what is asked of me. You described in your blog the requirments of the versatile blogger i just hadn’t read it. Oh dear, I’m really not good at this communicating lark, good job i’m usually given a script!!

  18. Hey, I loved your blog and have decided to nominate you for the “Versatile Blogger Award” This was handed down to me, and I now leave it in your capable hands. If you chose to accept this honor, there are some obligations. Not many. Just 3. (Technically there are 23, but who’s counting)

    Seriously though, I did enjoy your post. You can read about your blog here:
    http://aarongraham.wordpress.com/2011/03/30/not-quite-as-cool-as-a-leg-lamp-award-but-still-cool/

  19. Pingback: Not Quite As Cool As A Leg-Lamp Award, But Still Cool « Aaron D. Graham

Leave a Reply

