What do I want for Christmas?? HBO please

Wow, sorry for the delay, has it really been a week?? I have lost my diary and it’s almost as bad as losing my phone. I literally have everything in it and so I often refer to it when writing this blog. It’s not a personal diary full of secrets and desires, obviously I share all of those with you, but a practical diary for auditions, meetings etc. Not that that’s any excuse as there hasn’t been a sudden flood of work but still… Anyway, apologies over, about my last week…. Well I had a commercial audition which was pretty pointless and a bit awkward. It was for £6,000 so worth going in for and an internet campaign, which as I have mentioned before are always good as not many people see it. It was something to do with getting older and being looked after, which I thought was odd that they were going down the internet route. I mean not to be rude but most people I know over 60 aren’t exactly regular surfers of the net but that’s not my concern. So I had to walk around the room holding hands with my “boyfriend” (and I had guessed who it was going to be in the waiting room, he looked like something out of high school musical. For some annoying reason I always get put with the kids, there was a ruggishly handsome tall guy who would have been much better but was not meant to be). So we’re walking round, holding hands, staring into each others eyes and we start being directed. First we have to look at something and laugh; we look in different directions, no communication going on at all. Then we have to pretend to kick leaves and I end up kicking him, I definitely didn’t do this intentionally but maybe it was my subconscious frustration at always having the “cute” ones. So… I didn’t get a recall. Then, more excitingly, I finally get called back in for the HBO gig. It was a great start as the guy behind the camera I already knew. He did his own short film last year and wanted me to be in it. I met up with him and loved the script and was eager to be part of it but another job came up that I couldn’t turn down and so I wasn’t able to commit. We have stayed in touch since and he really wants to work with me at some point. So that was nice having someone in there that was definitely on my team. He also suggested we do it twice so he could get a profile shot too. The casting director was more than happy to oblige and there was a general positive vibe in the room so I could really get into it. It’s for a smaller part than the last one, only a couple of scenes in the first season but with the promise of a much bigger role in the second, so potentially much better as the other character I went for died. It would be naked again…. not as much as the other show I did so I think I can handle it, and the script is great so I’ve decided to go for it. I’m still young, everything is where it should be and it seems most actresses are doing it these days. I ran it past my boyf and he was actually really supportive. I have not yet mentioned this to the folks but at this point there really is nothing to tell, only had the audition so we’ll see. It did go bloody well though so fingers crossed, be a great bit of work before crimbo! Then yesterday I had an audition for a theatre tour. Great play and main part, 5 month national tour and amazingly enough the guy I just worked with on my last play went in to play my brother, so it has the potential to be brilliant. Had to do an accent too and thankfully it was one I was comfortable with so I really enjoyed doing it. One of the guys I went in with was clearly not as confident and it was very difficult to stay straight-faced. I’m not sure what he was going for but it certainly wasn’t recognizable. Shouldn’t laugh really we’ve all been there!

I have just received a promotion at my day job which I took happily. It means more money, more variety in the work and still the flexibility to work round my acting. I do not mention any auditions to my bosses, not sure whether I would have had the promotion otherwise. So quite a lot to report really. Again all ifs and maybes but I am feeling confident, and I do hear HBO calling…..

9 Comments

Filed under Auditions

9 responses to “What do I want for Christmas?? HBO please

  1. Great goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous to and you are just extremely wonderful. I actually like what you’ve acquired here, really like what you’re stating and the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still care for to keep it sensible. I cant wait to read much more from you. This is really a tremendous website.

  2. Ain’t the 1st commenter speaking the truth or what??

  3. rtm1981

    ehm.. If I’ve understood correctly who you are I suppose ^^

  4. rtm1981

    You would make a fantastic Ygritte 🙂 In Game of Thrones…

  5. Pingback: Return of the mystery actress - Winter Is Coming

  6. About Yea High

    And just like that:

    Return of the Mystery Actress!

    Of course Game of Thrones fans assume it is for Game of Thrones because we assume EVERYTHING is for Game of Thrones.

Leave a Reply

